The Road Not Taken

Robert Frost (1874–1963) 

The Road Not Taken

 

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

 

I chose this poem because it is an accurate reflection of my journey attending university in the Midwest. I had the opportunity to go to school where I spent most my life. The majority of my friends stayed within an hours drive from home, while I became the first student from Viewpoint High School to attend The Ohio State University. Two years ago, when I was deciding which college to attend, I felt like the character in Robert Frost’s poem The Road Not Taken, who has a choice to follow one of two roads, and is unable to travel both. Once he makes a decision, it will be final and there will be no turning back.

I put this poem next to the Morrison Tower parking lot. It was the very spot where my parents left me, and I took my inaugural steps towards a new, different and unique way of life. It symbolizes my new beginning, and the path I selected. Morrison Tower was my home last year, and I frequently think of who I was, and where I came from when I walk by my former dwelling.

I chose the color yellow because it reminds me of the first time I met friends in this new college environment, particularly when I made grilled cheese for the entire dorm on the first day. At The start of my first day in college, I knew nobody other than my roommate who I had talked to on one other occasion via Facebook chat. I had an ingenious idea to make grilled cheese and bake cookies for 200 people in the dorm so I could lay the groundwork for friendships immediately. I posted on a Morrison Tower chat board online that there was free cookies and grilled cheese in the lobby. Everyone rushed downstairs, and I was quickly overwhelmed by the number of connections I had made in a brief period of time. Many of those people are now my best friends and fraternity brothers.

The poem writing experience to me served as a way to meditate, and examine my roots. I think that college has changed me. My social groups are very different then they once were, and I feel like a more mature, confident, and collected person. I sometimes am amazed by the changes I see within in myself. 

