Blue Blanket

After my presentation of Andrea Gibson’s “I Do,” I had to look into more of her poetry. I stumbled upon the poem “Blue Blanket.” The poem is narrated from a point of view of a raped woman who reflects on that horrific night. The whole time I watched her preach this poem I had chills. It speaks of what this woman’s daughter might see. How her innocence was stolen from her and her religious beliefs were tarnished due to this horrific night. After listening to the poem the title makes sense: a blanket of blue bruises lay upon her body/life. Blankets are meant to be comforting objects in life but that was all stripped away from the narrator. At the end of the poem, Gibson talks about how the character isn’t the only victim and maybe people should teach their sons to respect woman. It was a very powerful poem that was a joy to read. 

http://www.andreagibson.org/poems/